Two Spring 2013 Shows That Aren’t On Your Radar But Should

I’m pretty open minded when it comes to shows I’m willing to check out at the beginning of every cour. This season I have 14 shows I want to at least see the first episode; (not including the Anime Mirai Shorts which any person who considers themselves anime fans should see). I expect to cut out at least half but who knows maybe I’ll keep most or even all of them.

I didn’t want to write a post of an overall Spring preview because I’m sure you have another website that does a better job than I ever could have so I decided instead to put the spotlight on some shows that aren’t getting enough attention going into the season but should.

Photo Kano

Photo Kano by Madhouse Studios

I know what you’re thinking, a Galge anime!? Why should I watch this when there are so many other shows that don’t have derivative premises?

1. Madhouse Studios– This veteran studio is known for making consistent and high quality shows when they actually like their source. In the past decade or so, Madhouse has been branching out doing various genres other studios rarely do like Sports and Josei, executing them to a tee with flying colors. Two of my favorite anime of recent memory, Kobato and Chihayafuru, have such an excellent balance of character development and plot progression they have gained my goodwill in Romance/SliceofLife to the point that I’ll dive back into this bland genre with an open mind.

2. Anonymity– In today’s anime market you have your Akiyuki Shinbo’s and Shinichiro Watanabe’s but you rarely see new directors taking charge. Akitoshi Yokoyama’s previous experience as an episode director but he’s worked mostly on great anime like Cowboy Bebop, Eureka Seven, and Wolf’s Rain all excellent series in their own right. A series director though is a completely different thing and it’s always good to get new blood in the director’s chair. Now whether he turns out good or not remains to be seen but I’ll be there to see if rises to the occasion

Devil Survivor 2 pic

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation by Studio Bridge

A thriller/mystery/action anime telling the tale of highschool students getting caught up in a conspiracy of sorts with demons escaping into the real world and tasked with sending them back to where they came.

1. Seiji Kishi– While some people find his work mixed, I find the anime he directs interesting and varied. Recently of Jinrui and Persona 4 fame, I particularly like him for his direction on Angel Beats and Seto no Hayanome which the latter was one of my first anime. As long as he gets to do what he wants in the time needed, he can tell a coherent, dynamic story which is a lot more than some other directors.

2. Premise and Universe- The basic premise of this show involves a couple of teenagers getting involved with demons in a realistic world similar to the Persona anime before. What’s making me excited about this show is how it’s in the Shin Megami Tensei Universe. Games taking place here include the Persona series and Catherine. Both known for their compelling character development, these stories are also known for their unpredictable plots that always leave you guessing. With twists and turns right up to the very end, those properties have always enthralled me and I expect this new one to do so also.

One thought on “Two Spring 2013 Shows That Aren’t On Your Radar But Should

Leave a Reply

